top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Life as a Week One Sigma Kappa

Never in a million years did I think that going into my spring semester as a freshman I would be in a sorority, nonetheless be excited and so happy about it. It seemed like going from my small high school, where I thought everything was easy and going my way, would allow me have the smoothest transition into college…. That was until I actually was in the process of doing so.

I had always had this clear picture in my head of what I wanted out of my college experience. It was mainly all the common goals everyone says. You know: friends, memories, laughs, blah, blah, blah. And that all seems easy and fun until you actually get there and it is a lot harder than you thought it would be.

This first semester for me was honestly tough. Yes I did find a group of girls that I was lucky enough to call friends, and now my new sisters, but it seemed like I was still missing something. Like I could be doing more. I constantly wanted to go home on the weekends because I felt like I had nothing better to do and no reason to stay, and I knew I had to change this. One day on the way back from class, I passed by a group of girls all laughing and repping their sorority jackets, and right there and then I knew that that is what I needed and wanted.

Weeks later I was rushing and knew from Day 1, as corny as this sounds, that I wanted to be a “Sigma Kappa.” Day after day I talked to several girls and with everyone I found something to talk about, a common interest, whether that be traveling, coffee, or maybe even just bonding over my love for sappy Netflix dramas. The time seemed to fly by and whenever I would hear “the knock” I wished for more time. These girls were people I could see myself being friends with. These girls were unique and genuine. These girls were the ones I knew I wanted to be able to call my “sisters”. And now I can.

There was nothing like waiting for the call on bid day. For me at least, all of my closest friends rushed, and this was both good and bad. Good: always having someone to talk about how you were feeling and someone to understand the anxious, nervous thoughts you had during the week of waiting. (BTW it always seems like the weeks where you know something is happening are longest weeks ever. And I mean ever.) The bad side of having friends also rushing is when the call does actually come for all of them. But you. So you sit by your phone waiting around and suddenly, what seems like hours later, it rings and it is like your birthday.

Now I know I don’t have much to compare it to, and I am extremely new at being a “sorority girl,” but one thing I can say is that a sorority is more than friends. It’s a group of girls who are there to push you up. There was nothing like jumping into a crowd of girls all smiling and looking genuinely happy that you were now a part of them. Sigma Kappa is a group of girls where I feel like I am at home. A group who already loves blowing up your phone with likes, follow requests, and asking where you are sitting in the lib. I have had barely any time with these girls but I can already tell that we all have the same hopes and ambitions and want to experience new things together. These girls have already made an impact on who I am. And maybe being a “sorority girl” was exactly what I needed. But not only any “sorority girl," a Sigma Kappa.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page