top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Why I'm Against Hazing

I would like to ask a question to all those out there who support the idea of hazing; why? Why do you support the idea of disrespect? Why do you think it’s okay to humiliate a person in order for them to learn something? Why does this cycle of abuse have to continue? This may be my inner humanitarian speaking, but I don’t believe that the violation of anyone’s basic human right to be respected is beneficial in any situation. The concept of hazing is very similar to the theory of the predatory state; uniting a group of people due to their hatred for a repressive regime. But what happens when the repression ends? You’re left with a group of very different people and nothing left to unite them. Yes, this is an extreme example, but it has many similarities to the experience of hazing. How can someone call their sisterhood or brotherhood strong when the newest members resent their elders for all the terror that they put them through?

I was fortunate enough to join an organization based on the idea of respect for each member, regardless of their seniority in the organization. Throughout my new member education process I never once felt that I was less than any other older member. I was able to develop natural friendships based on mutual respect with members both new and old. Nothing was forced, and nothing was uncomfortable. I cried at senior sendoff after developing such strong relationships with the seniors my freshman year. I look around the room during chapter and can honestly say that I respect every single one of my sisters. People may criticize my organization for our lack of hazing and to those people I ask, how can you say that a group of young women who all respect each other and are there for each other during hard times has a weak bond because they were not forced together by hazing? It’s easy to pass judgement because we are different than many other college greek organizations, but in reality our strong values and complete respect have bonded us in a way that will last a lifetime.

Say what you will about hazing. Personally I think that the concept is reprehensible. The idea of disrespecting someone to teach them respect contradicts itself. I joined a sorority to find a place that I could feel comfortable being myself. To find a support system during the crazy four years of college. I did not join to be disrespected, yelled at, or forces to do mindless tasks. Hazing is not the answer.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page