top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

What Sisterhood means to me


And with that, a room full of strangers became a room full of sisters.

As a middle child, I’ve always struggled with feeling “important”. I struggled with comparing myself to my siblings, competing against them over trivial matters and arguing with them when all else fails. So, surprisingly, I wasn’t too keen on joining a sorority.

With bubbly smiles and not a hair out of place, gorgeous, outgoing girls greeted me at Sigma Kappa. Instead of feeling awkward or inadequate, however, they took me in and made me feel like I belonged. They laughed at my jokes (which are the farthest thing from funny, by the way), listened to my long, drawn out stories and most of all, genuinely cared about me as a person. I was a little hesitant at first; I didn’t right away feel like I could open up and be myself. I kept quiet during the first few days, silently observing how easily everyone else was able to relax and become close.

There wasn’t one grand moment when I realized, “these are my sisters”. Instead, it was a compilation of smaller moments, little aspects of the days that made me realize I had found my family. Silent hours spent in the lib, dying from work, and I’d look up and make eye contact with a sister and she’d give me a supportive grin. Spotting girls around campus and seeing them instantly break out in a smile and a furious wave. Going to eick alone and then somehow ending up at a full table, all with smiling faces and great conversation. Receiving invitations to go to events, activities, shows that I would’ve been too scared to go to by myself.

It was little things like that that made me realize what sisterhood means. Friends that go above and beyond what is normal without even realizing it; smiling at you in encouragement just when they know you need it, reaching out when you find yourself too afraid to, and most importantly supporting you, whether you recognize you need it or not. It’s this feeling that you can say or do whatever feels comfortable and no one will judge you or make you feel inferior. It’s dancing when there’s no music and knowing in your heart that a sister will jump in there with you.

I’m a lot of things; I’m loud and crazy and honest and confusing. But I’m also a sister of Sigma Kappa and I wouldn’t have it any other way.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page