top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

In a Family, Everyone Fits In

"Sorority girl."

When you hear that term you think of a movie like House Bunny or Sydney White, filled with girls who all look the same and are expected to act a certain way in order to fit in with their sorority. Hardcore into their looks, snobby, perky, screeching when they see each other, all that annoying stuff. And going into recruitment, it's kinda what you expect it all to be like. But coming to TCNJ switched my viewpoint. Now when I hear it, I think of a bunch of young women allowing themselves to become more involved at their school and in their community, meeting more people, and working together to do all that. Creating a family the moment you become a part of it. A sorority girl is something I've become and am proud to be.

Growing up, I've always been one of two girls in my family. My sister and I have a family filled with boys that consist of two brothers then add on six boy cousins whom we jokingly call our additional brothers. They taught us to be tough and a bit of a tomboy. I was a tomboy who played t-ball with my brother and his friends for years, went to football & basketball games with my grandpa frequently, and was that one girl in gym class boys didn't mind having on their team since I could actually catch a football. Now, I like to think I rocked those t-shirts and Nike shorts with DC's like it was my job (I did not). A few years later when I switched my cleats for some heels and my hair ties for bows, I did not expect or even think about joining a sorority. Needless to say, the last thing I thought, or anyone thought I would be, is a sorority girl.

People from home look at me and say, "you're in a sorority?" Shocking, I know, but I get to explain all the things you don't see in the movies or on television. Now granted I get excited when I see my sisters who I haven't seen in a while but I've found somewhere I can be myself and I don't have to fake it. I've found girls who will bring me their own flip flops when I broke my own in class. I've found a place that makes TCNJ feel like home because of the girls who I consider family. They're smart, beautiful, funny, driven, talented, and so much more. So yes, I am a sorority girl. I am smart, beautiful, funny, driven, talented, and so much more. I am thankful for the girls who have given me confidence to help me believe that & love who I am, quirks and all. I wish this feeling upon everyone - to feel as good as I do about where I chose to be a part of. It was truly meant to be. I am thankful to be a Sigma Kappa, but even more thankful to be a sorority girl.

Angie D'Armiento | Junior | Special Education


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page