top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

My Last Month as a New Member


The stigma surrounding Greek life is hard to miss: especially when it comes to sororities, everyone chooses to disregard what it really means to be a sister. I knew I wanted to sign up for formal recruitment because I didn’t listen to the stereotypes and instead listened to all the positive things about TCNJ Greek life: you meet so many people, you form amazing bonds, and it’s FUN. Of course we’ve all heard some negatives (which are false anyway), but as Panhellenic always says, “go in with an open mind.”

I can easily state that joining Greek life was the best decision I made in college. I found a place I can call home within TCNJ; Sigma Kappa welcomed me with open arms, and I couldn’t be happier. I found the best sisters, the best Big, and the best friends whom I can confidently say I will have for life.

As I look back on my year as a new member of Sigma Kappa, I see this sorority as the best support system I have gained in life. I have grown so much from Bid Day, and I owe it all to my sisters. I believe in myself more because I see how much my sisters believe in me. And that has pushed me to try new things and strive to be a better person. My sisters make me want to do more because I want to make them- and myself- proud to call me a sister of Sigma Kappa.

Before joining Greek life, I never saw myself as being able to hold some sort of leadership position in the TCNJ community because I just didn’t think I had it in me. I never would've imagined being a part of the Panhellenic Executive board before I joined Sigma Kappa. But then the thought came to me, I asked for my sisters’ opinions, and I was met with an overwhelming amount of support. Being a part of Sigma Kappa has given me the opportunity to grow, but being a member of Panhellenic has given me the opportunity to learn. Seeing how the women of TCNJ’s 8 Panhellenic sororities can come together and make a difference- despite not sharing the same crest or colors- within the TCNJ community is inspiring.

It’s easy to look beyond this important fact and simply think Greek life s just a mess. But I can sit here and talk to you all day about how I’ve become a better person because of it. I might be stealing this from Dave Connor, but as the largest group of women on TCNJ’s campus, Panhellenic has the power to do some pretty incredible stuff. If that doesn’t say something about the importance of Greek life, I don’t know what does.

What I do know is that I found my home in Sigma Kappa. And you can definitely find a home in Greek life, too.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page