top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

The Reason I Stayed

I had never thought of myself as a “sorority girl.” Even my freshman year of college, I really didn’t think it was for me. But with a lot of my friends finding their homes within the Greek community, I decided to give it a shot and go out for rounds sophomore year.

It’s weird to think that I have been a part of this organization for less than a year, because I have no idea where I would be without it. In fact, without Sigma Kappa, there’s a good chance I would have transferred.

Before Sigma Kappa, I had struggled to find someone to get lunch with. Or go to the library with. Or watch a movie with on the weekend. Or just talk to, when I got lonely and stressed late at night and I was tired of watching Netflix for hours in my bed and ignoring the noise in my head and pretending like everything was fine.

Sigma Kappa started out as a room during rounds with great energy and genuine conversations. Now, Sigma Kappa is my home. It’s an amazing organization filled with women who are as weird and loving and passionate as I am. In less than a year, I have met some of my best friends, I’ve been elected to a leadership position by people who have put their trust in me, and I have unwrapped my perfect Big, who I’m pretty sure is just the blonde version of myself. So many blessings, so many things I still can’t believe I’m lucky enough to have, and so many things I can’t imagine my life without. And I’m still not entirely sure how I made it 19 long years without them.

Now, I don’t ever have to worry about spending weekends alone. If I’m stressed or sad or need to vent about something, I know I have someone who will listen. Such small things, but they made all the difference for my happiness here.

I’m thankful every day for what Sigma Kappa has given me, and continues to give me constantly. But I’m also thankful for what Sigma Kappa has helped me find within myself, qualities that I didn’t even know I had, that have come out because I am constantly surrounded by these amazing people who bring the best out of me, who encourage me to be the best version of myself every day.

I don’t get lonely and homesick like I used to, because Sigma Kappa has given me my home away from home, a family who loves me for who I am. Being a part of this, I am reminded every day that home isn’t a place, it’s a feeling. It’s the way I felt jumping into the arms of my sisters on bid day, and every day since then.

I’m so glad I gave Greek life a chance. I’m so glad I stayed, because I can’t image my life without these

women I’m lucky enough to call my sisters. The only sisters I’ve ever had, and the only sisters I’ll ever need.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page