top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

Finding my home in Sigma Kappa

To my beautiful (now official) sisters:

You are more than what you’ve gone through. You are more than the people who don’t stick around and the people who don't make you feel worthy. You are more than your insecurities. In short, you are enough.

I’m always struck with the realization that literally everyone is struggling with something, no matter how big or how small it may be. But all of you handle whatever it is with such grace, and I can’t help but admire you for that.

I’ve never been very open with my problems, and I especially have never been one to ask for help. But since joining Sigma Kappa, I have revealed the most sensitive parts of myself to a room full of people I only met mere weeks ago and felt perfectly safe. I knew no one was judging me or laughing off my problems because they were so much smaller than someone else’s; I knew everyone was hearing what I was saying and accepting it. I feel so much better knowing I have a support system of so many wonderful women to help me through rough times and celebrate the good ones. I feel at home.

I hope you all know that I will hold up my end of the bargain as well. I will always accept your flaws and listen to your problems. I will always support you in your endeavors to be better. Because I believe everyone deserves the chance to grow from their past and have a cheering section on the way there.

I am grateful for all of your support, but I am also humbled by the immensity of the things some of you have gone through. Like I said, you are not what you have gone through, but you are how you've grown from it. And you've all grown into such wonderful people despite some really unfortunate situations. Sometimes bad things do happen to good people, and I wish that wasn't the case… But the bad things have led you to a place where I am, where we all are, to Sigma Kappa, and for that I am immensely grateful.

Thank you for everything already, but especially for letting me know that I’m never alone because I’ve got all of you.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page