top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

To My Big as I Become a Big

Dear Big,

It seems strange to think that just one short year ago one of the best things happened to me. No, this wasn’t an accomplishment, a grade, or a gift, it was you. It is even stranger to think that now I am following your steps and will soon no longer be the baby. As this day is rapidly approaching I want to take a second and thank you for everything.

The first thing I was excited for, once getting into a sorority, was getting a big. Having two younger myself I always wanted to have someone to look up to or give me guidance with all the little stuff. I knew this what I would get out of a big. Someone to share all your embarrassing moments with, someone to blast music in the car with, and someone to feed your sushi, Wendy’s and Chipotle addictions.

But, here are all the things they don’t tell you about your big. They don’t tell you that this cool girl that you were obsessed with also will be obsessed with you. They don’t tell you that you always will have someone to have your back and talk you up to everyone. They don’t tell you that this person will want to go on nightly “Adventures” to all the food places in the area at the oddest hours of the night. But most importantly, they don’t tell you that you might just meet one of your best friends.

Thank you Big for being the best part of Sigma Kappa for me. For showing me what it means to embody the values we are taught from day one. Thank you for being someone to look up to. In the past few weeks it seems as if I have been nonstop texting, calling, and Facetiming you for anything and everything relating to my own soon to be little, and this makes me realize all the more how much you do and mean to me. Now, I truly know from you what it means to be a big. To take someone under their wing and be the thing or person that they never thought they needed.

You always know how to make me smile and are the light of every event. I have big shoes to fill, but I know I will be lucky if I am even half the big that you are.

Ily lots,

Your Little


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page